chevron crush

chev·ron: An inverted V-shaped pattern.

I am borderline obsessed with chevron patterns. It’s easy to see by just looking at my blog background. I have also devoted an entire Pinterest board to my Chevron crush.

In retrospect, the chevron has been a fixture in most of my life. As a young child, (I’m about to date myself here) in the 1980’s, I recall having a pastel rainbow chevron leotard for dance class, my father having a rust colored chevron puffy ski vest, my mother having a chevron stripe sweater. OMG, I just threw up a little in my mouth at those memories. More fondly, I remember my Granny and how she would crochet chevron (zig zag) blankets. It was her signature gift item. Every time my bedroom decor changed colors, and it was often, she would make me a coordinating blanket. I also spent many hours during my tween years making chevron friendship bracelets and exchanging them with my circle of friends.

The chevron pattern is a design of elegance and simplicity that has been showing up everywhere in the interior design world: on kitchen walls, backsplashes, floors, throw rugs, pillows and shower curtains. Thankfully it’s also made a big splash in the digital design world. I’ve found some beautiful holiday card designs, papers and printables.

I’m so hooked on this style, that brings an air of sophistication and modernism to everything it touches, that I feel the need to incorporate it in virtually every one of my current digital creations. I found an amazingly easy tutorial from Ashli Nixon for creating the pattern in Photoshop. If you don’t already have Photoshop, you can download a free 30 day trial of Photoshop from Adobe.

After all of that hard work, I discovered an even simpler way to create an modify a basic chevron pattern using Illustrator, thanks to an awesome tutorial from Nicole’s Classes.  Both methods are fun, but the Photoshop method is a bit more time consuming.

Needing to put my own little spin on everything, I’ve taken the basic chevron tutorial from Nicole’s Classes and adapted it to create the variations below featuring Pantone’s Fall 2012 color pallet.

chevron_pattern_1chevron_pattern_2chevron_pattern_3chevron_pattern_4chevron_pattern_5

Click here for my tutorial and get your chevron on!

Leave a Reply

